56 teams compete in the 21st Annual CMH Golf Classic

Sponsors donate nearly $50,000 for the CMH Medical Excellence Scholarship Fund

Fifty-six teams gathered for this year’s annual Citizens Memorial Healthcare (CMH) Medical Excellence Golf Classic on Saturday, June 4, at Silo Ridge Golf and Country Club in Bolivar, Mo. The teams of four competed to raise money for the CMH Medical Excellence Scholarship program.

The CMH Medical Excellence Scholarship provides financial aid to future doctors, nurses and other healthcare professionals. To date, the fund has provided assistance of more than $1.1 million to more than 300 students.

The tournament featured two shotgun starts at 7:30 a.m. and 1 p.m. Players enjoyed complimentary breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks at the tournament. At the end of the tournament teams were placed into one of four flights and ranked from first to fourth.

Championship Flight

In the championship flight Dr. Monte Kahler’s team (Kim Cribbs, Matt Keith, David Lehr and Joey Parr) took first with a 54, Silo Ridge came in second (Kevin Cribbs, Sutton Medley, Tim Peach and Bill Roberts) with a 54, Allen’s Mechanical (Sonny Dodson, Jeff Staley, Craig Withers and Eric Jones) placed third with a 55 and Hiland Dairy (Dave Cresap, Jason Clamors, Keith Keller and Craig Goldman) finished in fourth with 57. 

A Flight

In the A flight, Dr. Jeffrey Smieshek’s team (Sid Hastings, Jess Stafford, Jerry Routh and Bob White) took first with 63, Dr. William Reynolds and Rod Hoover’s team (Rod Hoover, Jeff Johnsen, Ryan Schuette & Tyler Johnsen) came in second with 63, Bank of Bolivar (Brad Gregory, Charlie Baugh, Jim Keltner and Kevin Gillogly)  grabbed third with 64 and Trust Company of the Ozarks’ team (Stephen Smith, Gus Krafve, David Geisler and Jake Lipscomb) came in fourth at 64. 

B Flight

Silo Ridge (John Colette, Duane Tharp, Tom Pearson and Brett Thomson) led flight B with 66, followed by Michael Smith’s team (Michael Smith, Jeremy Loftin, Josh James and Johnny Smith) in second with 66, Charlie Ankrom’s team (Charlie Ankrom, Jesse Ankrom, Buck Ankrom and Gage Mossman) in third at 66 and Justin Hamlet’s team (Justin Hamlet, David Hamlet, Kelly Roe and Shaun Coker) in fourth with 66.

C Flight

In flight C, McKesson (Tim Francka, Frank James, Carrick James & David Armstrong) took top honors with 69, Richie Schuler’s team (Richie Schuler, Randy Schuler, John Schuler and Ryan Penner) came in second at 69, BKD (Brad Brotherton, Scott Gold, Jean Nyberg and David Armstrong) took third with 70 and Senior Care Pharmacy (Matt Hayden, Chris Vickers, Dave DeVenau and Quade Vickers) placed fourth at 70. 

Kelly Roe was awarded Titleist Pro V1 golf balls for having the longest drive of the tournament and Rayden Hollis won the closest to the pin challenge and received Titelist Pro V1 golf balls.

Each flight’s first place team received a set of TaylorMade Burner2.0 Irons, second place team members were awarded TaylorMade R11 Drivers, third place teams were awarded a TaylorMade Ghost Putter, and fourth place team members received an Adidas Sports Duffel. 

“Our sponsors donated nearly $50,000 for this year’s tournament,” says Wren Hall, CMH director of community relations. “None of this would be possible without the support and participation of our amazing sponsors, volunteers and the staff at Silo Ridge Golf and Country Club.”

Top tournament sponsors were Banta Foods, a division of Reinhart FoodService, donating $5,000 for the golf tournament and the $3,000 sponsor was BMI-HealthPlans/Ken Stephens of Employee Benefit Design.

Next year’s CMH Medical Excellence Scholarship Golf Tournament will be held at Silo Ridge Golf and Country Club on Saturday, June 2, 2012.  For more information about the tournament or to sponsor a team, contact Wren Hall at 417-328-6318 or 888-328-6010.

June 07, 2011

Missouri Quality AwardStage 7 Award RecipientSBJ Dynamic Dozen Award Recipient SBJ Economic Impact Award Recipient Most Wired Award RecipientHospital 417-326-6000
Infocenter 417-328-6010 or 1-888-328-6010
1500 N. Oakland, Bolivar, Missouri 65613