Skip to Content

CMH announces three 2022 DAISY Award winners

Three Citizens Memorial nurses were named DAISY Award winners. Casey Dampier, LPN, with CMH Orthopedic & Spine Center, is the August 2022 recipient; Amy Dwyer, LPN, with CMH Osceola Medical Center and Walk-In Clinic, is the September 2022 recipient; and Chantel Carter, RN, with CMH Home Care Services is the October 2022 recipient.

The DAISY Award is a recognition program for extraordinary nurses.

Casey Dampier, LPN

Dampier earned her LPN license in 2008 from Bolivar Technical College and has worked at CMH Orthopedic & Spine Center for 13 years. A patient nominated Dampier for the DAISY Award for the consistent and thoughtful care she gave the patient during numerous visits to the clinic.

The nomination read, “[Casey] has always been very thorough, compassionate and thoughtful. She never seems too busy for the patient load she has to visit. She always has a smile on her face. She has called and checked on me after multiple surgeries and knows most of my family by name, just by them coming into the office with me. I would recommend her and her caring abilities 100 times over.”

Amy Dwyer, LPN

Dwyer received her LPN license in 1999 from Nevada Regional Technical Center. She began working for Osceola Medical Center and Walk-In Clinic in September 2020. A co-worker nominated Dwyer for the DAISY Award after observing her go the extra mile to provide exceptional patient care.

The nomination explained that a patient at the clinic had recently been diagnosed with a fractured leg, which she would need to be non-weight bearing. The patient expressed concern about getting home and getting inside her apartment without putting weight on her leg. Dwyer then voluntarily loaded a wheelchair from the clinic in her car, drove over to the patient’s apartment and helped her get in safely without allowing her to bear weight on her broken leg.

“This is the type of nurse that [Amy] is. She goes way above and beyond for patients, staff and friends. She truly is what all nurses should strive to be,” the co-worker wrote in the nomination.

Chantel Carter, RN

Carter earned her nursing degree in 2009 from Bolivar Technical College, and soon after began working at CMH on the medical/surgical unit before working at the Center Care Cancer Center, Bolivar for six years. She has worked since 2017 at CMH Hospice.

Carter was nominated by a patient’s spouse for the extraordinary care and support she gave to both the patient and spouse.

The nomination read, “Chantel is always effective and positive with us… Chantel’s concern for Charles and I’s welfare and comfort has shown through since day one and hasn’t waned at all. I couldn’t imagine going through this process without someone as dedicated as Chantel is to Charles needs as well as mine.”

Carter also won the DAISY Award at CMH in February 2020, and this is her ninth nomination.

About the DAISY Award

DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System. The DAISY Foundation established the DAISY Award in memory of J. Patrick Barnes, who died at 33 of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura (ITP), an autoimmune disease.

The Barnes Family was awestruck by the clinical skills, caring and compassion of the nurses who cared for Barnes, so they created this international award to thank nurses everywhere.

CMH implemented the DAISY Award program in January 2019 to recognize its extraordinary nurses. Each month a CMH or Citizens Memorial Health Care Foundation nurse is presented with this recognition.

If you or someone you know would like to submit a CMH DAISY Award nomination, go to: For more information about the DAISY Award and Foundation, visit

Photos: Casey Dampier, LPN, with CMH Infectious Disease Clinic, is the recipient of the May 2022 CMH DAISY Award. Amy Dwyer, LPN, with Osceola Medical Center and Walk-In Clinic, is the recipient of the September 2022 CMH DAISY Award. Chantel Carter, RN with CMH Home Care Services is the recipient of the October 2022 CMH DAISY Award.

CMH Nurses and DAISY Award Winners

CMH Nurses and DAISY Award Winners

to Top